

Annual General Meeting

May 29, 2013 at the

Westin Bay Shore in Vancouver, British Columbia

Present:

Board of Directors: 15 Members at Large: 78 Voting members: 92

1. Welcome

S. Lyons called the meeting to order at 2018 hours, followed by an introduction of the Board of Directors, Members of NCAC and Executive.

S. Lyons then presented the agenda in English and S. Gagne presented the agenda to members in French (the agenda was projected onto screens for all members to see).

2. Presidents Report

S. Lyons gave highlights of her report and stated that members can also see the NENA website for more information. S. Lyons highlighted to the members that there is now a new chair for International Council Nurses (ICN) Dr. Judy Shamian, who is Canadian, also highlighted was that two members of NENA were awarded the Queen Elizabeth Jubilee Award, Past NENA President Landon James and current NENA member Joanne Hnatiuk. S. Lyons also informed NENA members that due to the changes to Corporate Canada Regulations around not for profit organizations such as NENA, we can no longer have "exofficio" members sitting on the board of directors and that the board will now have to be voted on by all NENA members nationally. More information on how this process will occur will be available to members from website in the future as the present board moves ahead to comply with the new regulations.

3. Minutes from the 2012 AGM

Members were notified that the minutes from the 2012 AGM were approved at the Board of Directors meeting in Montreal on November 10,2012and have been posted to the NENA website.

4. Election of Officers/Nominations Committee

J. Spivey, Nominations chair, presented the two positions on the Executive Board that were up for election. The call for candidates for the positions of Treasurer and Secretary went out in February 2013. Nominations closed April 15, 2013 with one nomination for Secretary and one nomination for Treasurer. Dawn Paterson was acclaimed for Secretary and Jane Daigle was acclaimed for Treasurer.

5. Treasurer's Report

S. Uribe's Treasurer Report was made available to all members at the meeting.

S. Uribe did summarize the report, in stating that NENA assets have grown, due primarily to membership and courses that NENA administers. Current account balance at time of AGM is \$101,128. Also, presented to the membership was projected working budget.

Motion#1- Moved by D. Paterson and seconded by R. Enokson that the presented 2012-2013 year to date financial statement of the National Emergency Nurses' Affiliation Inc. be accepted as presented.

Carried

6. Communication Officer's Report

S. Carlson's prepared report was made available to the membership and members can go to the website for more information.

S. Carlson did highlight to the members that NENA Outlook has changed its name to the Canadian Journal of Emergency Nursing, (CJEN). S. Carlson expressed her thanks to the journals section editors- M. Dymond for Trauma, S. Lyons for Pediatrics, S.Early for Forensics and C. Sendecki for Geriatrics.

S. Carlson recognized the numerous frustrations expressed by the members when working with the website and emphasized to members that changes are forth coming.

7. National Course Administration Committee

M.Dymond, chair for NCAC presented her report to the membership with a power point presentation. NCAC information will be on the website and in the next issue of the CJEN.

8. Awards and Bursaries

J. Spivey Chair for the Awards and Bursaries announced the recipients of the NENA Bursaries and presented each with their Bursary:

Lori Quinn- British Columbia Andree Lineker- British Columbia NENA Newfoundland- Accepted by Rorey Tatchel Sherry Uribe- British Columbia

9. Honorary Membership Awards

S. Lyons and C. Brayman announced the recipients of this year's inductees as NENA Honorary Lifetime Memberships Awards to:

Tania Agnot Johnston- Manitoba

Jerry Bell- Saskatchewan

Ann Casey- Newfoundland

Anne Cessford- British Columbia

Val Eden- Nova Scotia

Karen Johnson- Ontario

Karen Latosek- Alberta

Linda McCracken- Alberta

Carole Rush- Alberta

10. Recognition of Departing BOD Members

S. Lyons thanked departing Board members S. Uribe (NENA Treasurer) and Raegan Gardner (SENG President) for their work on the board and their ongoing support of NENA.

11. Questions from the floor

No Questions from the floor.

12. Closing Remarks

S. Lyons thanked all members for their ongoing involvement with NENA.

13. Next Meeting and Adjournment

Next meeting in 2014 will be in Toronto, Ontario

Meeting adjourned at 2130 hours on May 29, 2013

Motion #2: Moved by J. Spivey and seconded by S. Stackhouse that the 2013 AGM be Adjourned.

NENA AGM MAY 2012

President Date

Secretary Date