

Minutes of NENA Annual General Meeting

April 21, 2016 in Montreal, Quebec

IN ATTENDANCE: Members 45 Non-Members 10

Executive:

- S. Uribe, President
- J. Calnan, Past President
- S. Lyons, Interim Treasurer
- C. Brayman, Secretary
- M. Dymond, Director of Education
- P. Mercer-Deadman, Director of Membership and Promotions

President's Council:

- C. Gray, British Columbia J. Harsch, Alberta
- T. Batiuk, Saskatchewan
- M. Grandmont, Manitoba
- J. Spivey, Ontario
- S. Gagné, Quebec
- D. Pitts, New Brunswick
- M. Spinney, Nova Scotia
- S. Hay, Prince Edward Island
- S. Carlson, CJEN Editor

CTAS/CEDIS:

- E. Musgrave
- T. Skeldon

NCAC:

M. McLaughlin K. Johnson D. Bouchard M. Doody

Meeting called to order at 2020h on April 21, 2016 by S. Uribe, President, after which NENA's Executive, Provincial Representatives, Committee members, and CJEN Editor were introduced.

The agenda for the 2016 Annual General Meeting was presented to the attendees, in both English and French.

MINUTES OF THE 2015 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Minutes of 2015 AGM were reviewed and approved at the November 14, 2015 NENA fall meeting, and are posted on the NENA website.

PRESIDENT'S REPORT

 S. Uribe presented her report, highlighting that NENA's primary goal is to increase our visibility nationally. She also informed the membership that NENA is a member of the Canadian Nurses Association (CNA), and has submitted an application to be a voting delegate. NENA is also a member of CNA's sub-committee of Canadian National Network of Specialities, the Certification Promotion Advisory Committee and the Network Benefits and Responsibility working group.

Other organizations that NENA has been approached by , and accepted to participate with, are:

- Canadian Concussion Collaborative
- MedicAlert Foundation to establish a national standard for MedicAlert information
- Project to promote Canadian Emergency Nursing certification in Dubai
- Community Paramedicine program

S. Uribe also reported that NENA has recently contracted a company to translate all NENA documents into French. She also encouraged the membership to actively recruit new members.

TREASURER'S REPORT

S. Lyons presented NENA's March 2016 Management Reports and reported that the June 2015 year-end financial report will be available on the NENA website.

DIRECTOR OF EDUCATION

M. Dymond presented the Director of Education Report. She acknowledged the Canadian courses endorsed and available through NENA, and introduced the NCAC committee members, and their contact information, who manage these courses.

M. Dymond introduced the instructors who have taught NENA endorsed courses for 20 years:

- TNCC Jerry Bell, Angela Bachynski, Joanne Fairfax
- ENPC Joanne Fairfax

DIRECTOR OF MEMBERSHIP AND PROMOTIONS

P. Mercer-Deadman presented her report, highlighting the need to increase visibility of NENA as a whole to be the voice of Emergency Nurses across Canada. She reported that there has been a 20% increase in membership this year, and that NENA is working with the Territories to bring them into NENA. She also presented on the promotional materials that have been created and are available.

EMERGENCY PRACTIVE INTERVENTION AND CARE – CANADA (EPICC)

The managing editor and project development team was recognized. L. James reported the following:

- This course is a combination of on-line learning and 2 days in class; no examination; no power points; leave with an individual, customized plan for learning
- Approx. 100 Emergency Nurses from across Canada have helped with the development of the course
- The project is complete on time and on budget and was released yesterday in both official languages

ANNOUNCEMENT OF NEW DIRECTORS

J. Spivey announced the following new directors who were acclaimed into their positions:

- President- Elect Stephanie Carlson
- Treasurer Kitty Murray
- Director of Education Margaret Dymond
- Director of Membership and Promotions Pat Mercer-Deadman

AWARDS

4 award recipients introduced and recognized:

- Jan Spivey ON
- Karen Johnson ON
- Elizabeth Boys Leath PEI Accepted by Sharon Hays
- Michelle Tipert NS Debbie Cotton Memorial bursary
- Honourary Lifetime Members Introduced and awards given out
 - o Landon James BC -
 - Ann Hogan NB accepted by D Pitts

Members were reminded that it is extremely important to NENA to recognize our members and all were encouraged to submit for future awards.

RECOGNITION OF OUTGOING EXECUTIVE AND PRESIDENT'SCOUNCIL MEMBERS

S. Uribe recognized, and thanked, the following NENA Executive and President's Council members, for their dedication to NENA:

- Jan Calnan Past President
- Sharron Lyons interim Treasurer
- Stephanie Carlson CJEN Editor
- Ann Hogan NCAC Chair
- Sharon Hay PEI Provincial Representative

QUESTIONS FROM THE FLOOR

No questions received from the floor.

ADJOURNMENT

MOTION: S. Uribe moved that the 2016 AGM meeting be adjourned at 2105h. Seconded by S. Lyons and carried.

Sherry Untre

President

<u>June 1, 2016</u> Date

Secretary

<u>June 1, 2016</u> Date